For Mothers of Boys – and Young Brides

 

I am a mother of three boys.  I am also an almost empty-nester.  This means I have lived with only guys for twenty-eight years.   It also means that at our house the toilet seat is never down.

 

So, anyway, I’ve decided to post, from time to time, some of the limited “wisdom” I’ve gleaned from living in a world of males.  But, even if you’re a mom to girls, I invite you to stick with me, because we mothers shape the outlook of our children.  And daughters learn their basic attitude toward guys from their moms.  And, as you know, God gave us females a ton of influence over males! 

 

Today, I’d like to give a little overview of what having a son means, starting at the very beginning.  That’s why this is for young brides too.  Come, let’s daydream…

 

A Dream About You…

Veiled and arrayed in a gown of lily white, you wait, breathless, for the music to signal your walk down the aisle.  At the altar, with his eyes locked in your direction, stands the man of your dreams.  Who would ever believe two people could love each other so much.  But it’s true.  And this time it’s you!

 

The scene fades momentarily and then refocuses.

 

This time your gown is pale green.  Hospital garb.  And your whole body is trembling.  You lift your head to gaze at the squalling miracle just placed on your belly, and you cradle him in your arms.  Who would ever believe a woman could love another guy so much.  But it’s true.  And this time it’s you.

 

Again the scene dissolves.  It comes back to reveal a room softly illuminated by a night-light.

 

You’re wearing a gown again.  This time it’s a pink print with small rosebuds.  And it’s flannel.  You shuffle over to the bunk bed, reach out and touch his brow.  The fever has broken.  You sink down on the chair in the corner and release silent tears of relief.  Who would ever believe a son could command such a vigilance of love.  But it’s true.  And this time it’s you.

 

The picture closes once more, and then snaps back, bright and clear.

 

He’s wearing a gown of royal blue; a matching blue and silver tassel dangles from his cap.  School colors.  He strides across the platform, shakes hands with dignitaries and descends the steps, diploma in hand.  At the reception, joy radiates from his face as he bounds in your direction for a mother-son hug.  But he never makes it.  A young lady intersects his path and grabs his hand.  Who would ever believe two women could love the same guy so much.  But it’s true.  And this time . . . she takes him away . . . from you.

 

This was only a daydream.  An imaginary visit into the heart of a mother, though someday it could very well be you.                                                                      ~~~~

 

Of course there’s a moral to this story, and I’ll post mine in a few days, but I’d love to hear your spin on it first. 

  

(This is an excerpt from my book, “Secrets About Guys (that shouldn’t be secret),” released by Standard Publishing.  Have to mention that it’s copyrighted…as are my blog posts.) 

11 Responses

  1. So kind of you to share these thoughts and advice with everyone! I will have to come back and reference it a lot! lol

    God bless-
    Amanda

  2. Hello, Grace! I just wanted to drop a little note to say “thanks”! Thank you so much for leaving a comment on Antique Mommy’s blog last week that was on advice for new moms! That post meant so much to me and I’ve printed out all of the comments to reread again and again. So thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and encourage me and other new moms!

    I loved the verse that you referenced and will keep it close to my heart. And I can’t wait to read the moral of this story…it captured my heart and attention.

  3. This is a very cool blog. I will indeed keep track of you! I thought of you (and prayed) for you, Grace, when I was talking to one of our newest employees at my hospital, a nurse practicioner from Thunder Bay. I thought of many people and each of them I prayed for as I drove home in my truck.

    Recently I took a trip to the Middle East and put together a storybook. I said in that book that now I have names and faces in my head that haunt me and compel me to pray. Memories are wonderful incentive to pray. I have come to realize all these years later that prayer is really the only thing I can adequately give back to anyone I have encountered in this life. Prayer is the only defense (or offense) we Christians have. We have a responsibility to wield it fiercely and often, constantly if we can. I have not yet gotten to that level. Prayer Warrior I am not, but I want to be someday before Christ comes again!

  4. Thank you for visiting my blog! i grew up with a sister, mom and dad, and here I am-a mom to three boys…It still surprises me sometimes…I wonder about that-the future with my boy’s girlfriends and one day wives. I pray for the girls now-and of course, for my boys!

  5. Aww- you are about to melt the icy heart right out of this mom of three little boys!!

  6. This was actually one of my favorite stories of your book! : ) Ahh, how sweet! I love the end story the best.. after the girl realizes that the mom comes first!

  7. Thanks for your recent visit and comment at my site! So glad you directed me here to this post–everything you said is true! Of course, I have yet to see my son stride across the platform to receive his diploma, but it is coming and much sooner than I can imagine…

    Blessings to you!

  8. You’re killing me. My son is 9. I dread that day you just described.

  9. As a mother of 3 sons! I could not have said it better…My oldest son graduates from college in May…he has a serious girl friend and they plan to marry. I can’t wait to read more on the subject.

  10. […] here’s a blog with an interesting story that tells a mother-in-law’s point of […]

  11. […] here’s a blog with an interesting story that tells a mother-in-law’s point of […]

Leave a Reply

