Thanksgiving – 10 Reasons to Give Thanks

 

Yesterday, my grown son (22) tore up his knee playing touch football with a bunch of youth in the church parking lot.  I spent most of the afternoon and part of Sunday evening in the ER with him.  He’s home now, in a leg brace, taking pain meds and getting around on crutches.  (no college classes or work for him today.)  We won’t know for several days whether or not there’s damage to his ACL; we have to wait until the swelling goes down before they can do an MRI.  (The Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) lies deep within the knee joint. )

 

On the way home from the hospital yesterday, and while I transported him to a class this evening, I was quite astonished to catch myself mentally listing things for which I am thankful.  I didn’t know I had it in me, but here’s what was going through my head…(in no particular order).

 

1.)  I’m so thankful we have access to a hospital.   

2.) I’m thankful for the support and medical staff there. 

3.)  I’m thankful I have a car to get to the hospital.

4.)  And that gas is available for my car.

5.)  And that I am able to pay for fuel.

6.) I’m thankful that pain medication exists.

7.)  And that I have access to it. 

7.)  That we already have a pair of crutches in the garage. 

8.)  I’m thankful for my cell phone, to correspond with my husband, who is out of town, so that I don’t have to deal with this alone.       

9.)  I’m thankful to have a son – to worry about.

10.)  I’m thankful to have a Heavenly Father who hears prayer.

 

I could easily expound on these points.  So many people in the world cannot list these things because they do not have them.  In the midst of trials, there truly are things for which we can be thankful.  But it sure surprised me to discover that this truth really is sprouting in my heart.  I’m so thankful!

5 Responses

  1. Hope he gets well very soon! What great things to be thankful for! We take for granted!
    -sandy toes

  2. Praying for healing on your sons knee! I enjoyed visiting your site. I found it via Works for me Wednesday where a gal was reviewing your new book. It sounds great. I have two amazing daughters. One just turned 13 and one is 10.

  3. This is really sweet, Grace! I pray L. continues to heal quickly.

    I LOVE the new design, too!!!!
    XOXO

  4. Hi Grace, Thank you for your kind words and stopping by my blog. That is very strange that my e-mail popped back to you…it rarely does that, I’ll have to look into it.

    I will continue to pray for speedy recovery for your son…no fun being injured.

    I will definately let you know what I thought of your book “when” I get it. If I don’t win it, i just may buy it (C:

    Have a beautiful Thanksgiving.
    Kirstin

  5. I’m sorry for your son 😦 and that your hubs is out of town. Like you, I have been thankful for similar things. If you read “A Man in Full,” you get a frenzied, almost comical look at life when you DON’T have those things. Happy Thanksgiving, and God continues to bless those that are His!!

Leave a Reply

