Good Tidings of Great Joy!

 

 

 

 

“Composer George Frideric Handel was bankrupt when in 1741 a group of Dublin charities offered him a commission to write a musical work.  It was for a benefit performance to raise funds to free men from a debtors’ prison.  He accepted that commission and gave himself tirelessly to work on it. 

 

“In just 24 days, Handel composed the well-known masterpiece Messiah, which contains “The Hallelujah Chorus.”  During that time, he never left his home and often went without eating.  At one point, a servant found him weeping over his evolving score.  Recounting his experience, Handel wrote, “Whether I was in my body or out of my body as I wrote it I know not.  God knows.”  Afterward he also said, “I did think I did see all heaven before me and the great God Himself.”

 

I was so blessed by this that I wanted to share it.  It’s an excerpt from the December 20th devotional in “Our Daily Bread,” a quarterly devotional published by rbc Ministries .  This particular entry was written by Vernon Grounds.  I hope it blesses you, too.

 

May you all be overwhelmed by the magnificence of God’s great Gift to us, His Son, Jesus Christ, Emanuel, God with us!  

Merry Christmas!

    

5 Responses

  1. I love this! Thanks for sharing. I wish I”d seen it in time for Links and Shout Outs yesterday. Merry Christmas!

  2. I have cold chills after reading this! Thanks so much!

  3. Guess what I got in the mail this afternoon!!!! Thank you SO much! You are such a sweet bloggy friend! Merry Christmas to you and yours :0)

  4. The Messiah definitely gives me goosebumps – and the more I learn, the more I bump!! Thanks for adding to my love of it. I especially love that we are blessed to have it in English! not translated from Italian or French.

  5. That is such an interesting quote. Maybe that is necessary for artists. We store up our talents and our tools, preparing for that one enormous burst of inspiration… sweating furiously to capture the image of heaven by our craft. Makes me feel like I should work harder.

Leave a Reply

