Head/Heart Argument

 

I don’t want this to be Tuesday.  Or, if it has to be, then I want it to stay Tuesday for at least another week.  Yesterday I posted about being a happy empty-nest mom.  Today, I’m feeling that niggling pain that comes with knowing our military son will be leaving early Thursday morning. 

 

It hurts.  I don’t want to feel this.  I don’t want to be a sad empty-nest mom.  So, there’s this inner argument going on. 

 

My head says, “You should be thankful he could come home.”  My heart says, “I am.  I just don’t want him to leave again.”

 

My head says, “Think of all the moms whose sons couldn’t come home for the holidays.”  My heart says, “I know.  I do.  I really do.  And I pray for them, and their families.”

 

My head says, “Well, quit whining.  And make the best of today.”  My heart says, “You can be sure I will!”

 

It also says…    “Sniff.”

3 Responses

  1. Nothing wrong with feeling sad that your son is going off again. Once a mom, always a mom! 😀

  2. Oh, dear one, my heart goes out to you. And I’m thankful that you know a loving Father that you can turn to who knows all of those inner workings of both your head and heart and that you can pour out everything to Him. May you know His grace is sufficient! And a big hug to you.

  3. I think BOTH those feelings are totally legitimate. Being sad does not mean you don’t appreciate the time God gave you with him.

    You and that boy were ONE. When he comes home, you rejoice at being physically close, in this physical world that God gave us to live in. When he departs, the ties are stretched and get a bit torn, and that hurts. Departure and separation are sad.

Leave a Reply

