Big Milk Splat

 

 

Who would ever guess that a plastic, gallon jug of milk, when dropped from a level of three to four feet, could make such a spectacular splat?  Maybe the plastic was brittle from just coming in out of the cold.  I don’t know.  What I do know is it split open at the bottom, and milk gushed out, spreading a puddle of Fat Free on the floor at the base of the fridge, ran under a door, over the threshold, and into the pantry.

 

 

Milk fairly exploded from that jug, spattering floors, walls, fridge, doors, cupboards, dishwasher, oven, and counters.  It flew across the room, through the window screen above the kitchen sink, and messed my west-facing view.  Clean dishes drying in the drainer by the sink were suddenly destined for a second washing.  Not even the cupboard molding near the ceiling was spared

 

 

Moo juice dripped from hair, spectacles, jacket, gloves, pants, and shoes.  And would you believe there was still a good half gallon left in the container?

 

 

The whole event made such a colossal mess, all I could do was laugh in utter disbelief.  (Make that udder disbelief.)  No, I did not take pictures.  The last thing I wanted was a milk moustache on my camera.

 

 

This happened Friday night, right as I was about to begin cooking supper.  We ate Carry Out.

 

 

 

 

 

12 Responses

  1. eekk!! reminds me of the time a plate of sashimi crashed out when i opened the fridge, the plate broke in half.. and my dog happily snatched a $40 per piece of yummy raw tuna. she loved it!! 😀

  2. Can you find solace in the fact that it was milk instead of soda? *sheepish grin* Trying to encouraging because that sounds soo gross.

  3. Yeah. I had to decide whether to or laugh or cry. Laughing was more fun. Crying over spilled milk is so…you know…cliche.

  4. That made me laugh because oh how I have been there. Nearly every day it’s something like that with me.

    The upside is that you didn’t have to cook! And? Now it’s clean behind and underneath the fridge!

  5. That was funny mom, i can just imagine.

  6. Oh Grace…I cant decide whether to laugh or cringe. What a nightmare! Pretty amazing. My least favorite sound is some sort of liquid spilling on tile, particular apple juice. Those tiny little droplets just travel for days…and stay sticky for weeks. Glad you could laugh! 😉

  7. OH Girl!! The Udder remark cracked me up! Some people will do anything to get out of cooking! 😉 I bet you will find milk for weeks!

  8. I hate it when stuff like that happens! I tried to dry a pyrex dish on the stove once, and it burst into minute pieces of glass all over our kitchen. I was still finding bits of it on top of cupboards when I moved out of the house!!! But it’s a fun story.

  9. Oh goodness. I totally know how you feel. About two months ago, I did the same thing. Only problem is, we get our milk from a dairy, and it comes in glass bottles. So, not only was milk spilled, shards of glass were mixed in there.

    I was so very happy that my toddler was strapped into his high chair, b/c you KNOW he would want to come “See!!”. I cleaned up what I could, being eight months pregnant….didnt DARE get down on my knees with all that glass, so just spread my feet as far as possible to wipe stuff up with a paper towel. I DO remember using a spatula to try to get under the fridge and “scoop” some junk out from under. There was no way I could move that fridge.

    When my hubs came home, he had to help do it. But in the intervening six hours or so, the heat from the fridge had dried the milk onto the hardwood floor, sealing the shards of glass to the floor with something in the nature and strength of varnish. I hear muttering and scraping and not a little cursing.

    I am now so very careful getting those slippery bottles out of the fridge.

  10. Bless your heart! I bet it took a while to clean up – especially under the fridge 😦

  11. Oh dear. I guess that’s one way to get your spring cleaning done. You deserved takeout that night!

  12. The bad thing about milk is if it’s not cleaned up properly it will smell.

    Speaking theoretically, of course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

