A Little Ninja Repentance

 

While raising our boys, and not being the perfect mom, there were times when I’d have to apologize.  Besides the fact that I knew I owed it to them, admitting my wrong and asking their forgiveness was my way of modeling repentance.  I wanted to teach them to take responsibility for their actions, to learn humility, to admit when they’re wrong, to ask forgiveness, to make things right. 

 

This worked pretty well.  But, now that our sons are grown, I have discovered that some of the things I felt most guilty about are not the things that stick in the minds of our sons.  They have their own grudges against us.  I know because we’ve asked.

 

For instance, our guys claim we made them go to bed in broad daylight while the neighborhood kids played outdoors.  They said that after we’d tuck them in, they’d get back up and stand at their bedroom window, gazing down on their friends who joyfully romped below. 

 

Of course our perspective was different.  Granted it was not yet dark, but it seemed irresponsible to let kids run around late when they had to get up early the next morning.  Those were school nights.  And getting three tired boys out of bed the next day was no small task.  Thus, we didn’t go along with the neighborhood crowd when it came to bedtime.

 

We have all reached an impasse on this account.  Our boys stick to their version.  We stick to ours.  And since they’re grown, we all laugh about it.

 

But on New Year’s Day, I overheard something that alerted me to some yet-needed repentance.  A bunch of our 22-year-old son’s guy friends were sitting around our kitchen table, snacking, talking, laughing, and waiting for the football game to start.  After living with only guys for 28 years, I’m used to male conversations, but my ears tuned in when the topic turned to their parents.  Especially so, when I heard my son tell his friends about how I’d sold his Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles action figures in a garage sale.  He wasn’t dissing me; and the guys were laughing.  But it struck me that this is the first thing that came to his mind.  He’d mentioned that before.  To us.  And we joked about it.

 

That night, I woke around 2:30.  I couldn’t get that conversation off my mind.  I wished like crazy I’d never sold those turtles.  Wished like crazy I could give them back.  I lay awake thinking…praying.  Then I wondered…eBay?  I got up and logged on.  After a few tries, I narrowed my search.  These had to be the originals – from 1988.  It took some looking but I found ‘em – all four – Donatello, Michelangelo, Raphael and Leonardo.  With their weapons! 

 

Thank goodness it was a “Buy it Now,” so I didn’t have to bid.  Thank goodness for PayPal.  And thank goodness for Priority Mail.  The package arrived in three days!

 

Monday evening I set the table for supper and strategically set the four Ninjas by our son’s place, with my note of repentance. Then called the guys to eat.

 

 

 

 

I knew I’d done the right thing when he said, “That is so freakin’ awesome!”

 

 

 

And he thanked me over and over.

 

 

13 Responses

  1. That’s awesome! i think that when we are sensitive to our kids that way, or just others in general, it means so much.

  2. In the words of your son, “That is freakin’ hilarious!”

  3. That is SO cool! I love, this POST. It made me so happy 🙂

  4. awwwwwww! that’s so coooll!!! hahaha!!!

  5. lol I sit here laughing with tears in my eyes…what a testimony! I am so proud of you and I dont even know why!

    Thanks for blessings my night… hope you ahve a wonderful day!

    Amanda

  6. oh my goodness, this post brought tears to my eyes because my son too loved Ninja turtles and I sold all of his in a garage sale too! He hasnt mentioned wishing that he had them though. He is almost 24 years old now. Thanks for sharing this awesome testimony!!!

  7. That is so cute! Great job, mom. You grow some handsome men, too. 😉

  8. That is so cool! Look how happy he is.

  9. Oh, Grace, I love this post. I had a smile on my face and tears in my eyes while reading it, for many reasons. As a daughter who has parents who are very sensitive (sometimes too much) and open to hearing how their actions and/or words may have affected me and my brother during our childhood and asking for forgiveness, it made me even more deeply appreciative of their kindness and receptivity to times I need to share. And at the same time, it also made me realize that I am about to embark on a journey that will very much show me an understanding of why my parents did what they did sometimes and extend more grace to them, I hope. And I also want to be quick to forgive, quick to ask for forgiveness (cause I’m gonna mess up LOTS), and have the same discernment and receptivity to my kids as you exhibited here. Deeply touching!

  10. what he said…freakin’ awesome.

  11. I loved the pictures…they say it all

  12. Hi I saw you visited our blog and I tracked you down!!! You’re an awesome mom!!! My son is 8 and unfortunately didn’t get into the TMNT. Great post! I look forward to reading more!!

  13. That IS so freakin’ awesome. A freakin’ awesome mom.

Leave a Reply

