Wanted – In-Law Stories

 

                What’s your in-law story?  I want to hear it! 

In my book for young women, “Secrets About Guys (that shouldn’t be secret),” I devote a chapter to nurturing healthy in-law relationships.  I posted an excerpt in my blog For Mothers of Boys – and Young Brides  and expanded on it here: For Mothers of Boys – And Brides – The Moral  Traffic from these posts, and the comments, confirm what we already know from history…it’s a hot topic!  Besides, think of all the mother-in-law jokes… 

            I’m working on another project about this topic and am now putting out a call for in-law stories.   I would like to hear what your relationship with your ILs is like…good, bad, ugly, amiable?  Don’t worry about privacy.  I won’t use real names even if you include them.  However, I do need your name so I can contact you if I use your story or have questions.

            If you’re willing to share about your relationship with your mother/daughter-in-law, please leave a comment letting me know.  I’ll contact you with info on where to send it.  And please spread the word.  The more stories, the better!

 

7 Responses

  1. Oh this is SO needed and I would love to share my mother in-law story 😉

  2. I have 2 wonderful sets of in-laws (my hubby is from divorced/blended families)…One saved, one not. Such a timely topic. I’d love to share with you…let me know what to do.

  3. I’d love to share the story of my wonderful in-laws and how they got me and hubs together!

  4. I, too, have pretty great in-laws. I do have one funny story about my FIL and what happened after the birth of our first son. I had to have gall-bladder surgery when Jonathan was just four weeks old. My inlaws flew in from out of state to help as my husband had JUST gone back to work after paternity leave, and this would be my second major abdominal surgery in a month.

    The day after the surgery, I was nursing my son as much as possible, because he had been on formula for 24 hours since I had had general anesthesia. Anyway, he also had a decent diaper rash and one of the ways of getting rid of it, is to expose the baby’s bum to the sun. Well, the only place that afternoon where the sun was shining was the sliding door to our back deck. Unfortunately, the way the house was arranged, the door opened and you walked straight in and down the stairs to the basement. No door or anything. Just down the stairs.

    I had a patch of wall, about eight inches wide, to brace my back on and I could brace my feet against the frame of the slider. So, there I sat, nursing my naked son, on the floor, with one foot awkwardly bracing myself, trying to hold him in a position that accomplished the purpose of nursing him since he was a bit skeptical after 24 hours off the breast, while exposing his bum to the sun, AND trying to keep him off of any of the four incisions from the gall bladder surgery. Needlesstosay, I needed a good visual on all of these moving parts, and, as my son would now say, I had “not very many” clothes on my upper half.

    Anyway, we were thoroughly engrossed in this procedure when my FIL walked up onto the deck from the backyard where he had been working. I saw him coming, but really couldn’t move, much less in time. He laughed, outside the door, and then brought his hands up to his face in the international sign of “taking a photograph”. And then “adjusted the camera” to better get a good shot. After the longest 10 seconds of my life, he wandered off the deck to find another door to come into the house.

    I was relieved that he was not embarrassed (sp?), but I wasn’t quite sure how to respond. Now, I am a big fan of nursing whenever and wherever your baby needs you to, but I don’t really like being the center of attention. Kindof like when you get a c-section for Pete’s sake and everyone and their brother is looking at your naked body. Or, what happened to me this past weekend…when you are in the throes of second stage labor and the doctor wants to “check your cervix” with two nurses, three residents, and an assorted medical student or two in attendance, not to mention your own husband, and you are told to ‘let your knees fall apart.’ Oh, wait, this was supposed to be a comment about in-laws, not about the people that have seen you naked…..sorry.

  5. I am currently the only daughter in law of my in-laws three boys. And I am still not their favorite.
    My MIL is a strange creature. I try to give her the benefit of the doubt since she raised my wonderful husband. I would love to share some stories with you… I think I am going to think about it just a bit more a try to remember the good stuff! he he

    God bless-
    Amanda

  6. After my husband and I split (over 13 years ago now) he said his mother, my MIL, said “you should never have married her in the first place”. To which I responded, why would I be any different….that was the same thing she said about his brothers’ ex wives too!

  7. I met my husband on eHarmony, and I would love to tell you about my relationship with my MIL.

    Angie

Leave a Reply

