Inauguration Signs of Hope

 

        I am so excited about this inauguration!  If you’re thinking it’s because of how hopeful I am in our new President, it’s not.  But I’m not interested in bashing him either.  I’m excited about something entirely different.

        For eight years during the Clinton administration, I heard Christians bash Bill Clinton.  Then, a huge segment of the American church celebrated with great jubilation when George W. Bush was elected.  They thought he was The Man to finally turn our nation around.  Christians, from the other segment of the American church, have spent the past eight years shredding “W” with their sharp tongues. 

Today, with the inauguration of President Obama, that former President-devouring group is now celebrating with unbridled elation, believing their new President is the ultimate solution to America’s ills.  And Christians who didn’t vote for him are now facing the temptation to once again grab the baton of criticism and run with it.

But here’s what’s so exciting to me.  After sixteen years, I think we’re finally getting it.  This time, I am not hearing president-bashing from conservative Christians.  I am hearing heartfelt, humble commitments to pray for President Obama and his new administration.  Not just a smattering of these comments.  This is the overwhelming message I’m receiving from a widespread segment of conservative Christians. 

I believe this is what God has been waiting for.  And I believe this – not a Conservative, nor a Liberal President – is what can turn things around for our country: our humility, brokenness, repentance, and prayer.  In fact, God promised it would:

“If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”  II Chronicles 7:14  God will heal our land.  Not a man.  Not a conservative.  Not a liberal.  God! 

I just hope that neither group blows it by either sulking, if the new President succeeds, or gloating, by taking the credit for what God does.  If we do, we may find ourselves back to square one. 

11 Responses

  1. Obama took up his office with a lot of class — a good way to start

  2. I’m always a believer that one man cannot please everybody. And one man certainly cannot change everything. So that one man better focused on pleasing God over men.

    To me, America isn’t a Christian nation. It certainly has lots of Christians in it, and was founded by the Puritans, but American as a country is not Christian.

    So to say that God will heal the land, well, I’m a skeptic. I guess as a non-American, I look at it more of the Lord can choose whether He wants to heal the land or not. I believe God focuses more on the people in the land. And just like any other nation, there will be believers and there will be non-believers.

    Interesting note, I was observing the prayers of the two pastors. And I noticed a trend that they brought up. To be politically correct, when they talked to “God”, they almost mentioned other religions’ gods. I noticed that more and more people, esp in Western countries (and promoted by Oprah), have come to accept the theory that all religions pray to the same God, and therefore must all be right. Scary notion, and flawed, since the characteristics of each god are so different. Are they saying this GOD or the UNIVERSE can’t decide who he or it wants to be? Hm….

  3. God is the one who said He would heal the land. It wasn’t my idea. 🙂 I’m just quoting Him. Of course He gave conditions which Christians must meet.

  4. This is a great post. Even though I did not vote for Obama, I certainly do not want him to fail. I want him to succeed and really want him to take into consideration our (Christians on the “other side”) most deeply-held beliefs.

  5. Hm. i think i came off sounding a bit wrong (sry!) I think the bg to that is I’ve met a lot of Americans in my college years who expected God to bless their country, sometimes demanded. and when it seemed God didn’t, then well, there must not be any God then, or God is helpless. so I was mainly reacting without thinking it through much. Sorry. ok, i must word things more carefully. eek!! Sorry.

  6. I like this too. You’ve raised a point that I’ve been thinking about. I think the “losing” side always complains that the “winners” are looking at their guy as The One to save us all. Many conservatives did it with Bush. Now others are doing it with Obama.

    I really don’t have a problem with all the hope and enthusiasm. I get into it too. I think the key is that no one person can solve our problems OR ruin us. That’s putting too much power into one set of hands. And denying God’s power.

    God’s not wringing his hands. What gives me the right to?

  7. Thanks you so much for stopping by my blog and leaving such a sweet comment.

    Thank you for your post. I have to admit I have had a negative attitude about the new President. Mainly because of his promise to sign the FOCA(Freedom of Choice Act). I am a counselor at Birth Choice and this is a close issue to my heart. I have been praying about my attitude. Thanks for reminding me of what Isaiah tells us about how to have healing in our land, it comes by humbling ourselves, seeking God’s face, and turning from our wicked ways….Then we can have healing and forgiveness. I also read in my Bible study that The king’s heart is in the hand of the LORD, [Like] the rivers of water; He turns it wherever He wishes. Prov. 21:1. So…I pray that the Lord turns the Presidents heart toward Him. God is in CONTROL. Thanks for reminding me.

  8. I’m sure God realizes – and understands – why we have strong feelings/attitudes when we see His word violated by our leaders. I think that’s why He tells us to pray for them. Lord willing, my next post will expand on just what it is that Christians have been violating up to this point, which has hindered God’s blessing on our country.

  9. I LOVE this post. I totally agree and I am proud and hopeful because of what you describe is happening this time around. I’ve read so many great posts about the new administration I think I’m off the hook!

    Hey, be Whimsey and play this meme with me!
    http://blackbeltoma.blogspot.com/2009/01/its-my-bag.html

  10. We have no hope apart from Christ!

  11. While I live in a VERY liberal area of the US, I am what most would consider a VERY conservative Christian. I have prayed for our presidents for some time now. And while I am a registered Republican, I tend to think of myself as more of an independent. I’m not sure I want to be “tied” to the Republican OR Democrat name. I do not agree with many of the views held by our current President, nor do I agree with all of the views held by our last President. What I do believe is that God allowe these men to be voted into office for a reason, and as Christians, we do have a responsibility to pray for our leaders. We don’t have to agree with them, but we do need to pray for them.

    Thank you SO much for posting this. I am with you when you say, “I just hope that neither group blows it by either sulking, if the new President succeeds, or gloating, by taking the credit for what God does. If we do, we may find ourselves back to square one. ”

    I truly hope that Christians will really get down on their knees and pray with a humble heart, for this man, for his protection, for the protection of his family, for wisdom for our leaders, for Godly counsel. It is our God-given privelege and responsibility.

    Thanks!
    Angie

Leave a Reply

