Countdown to Valentine’s Day – 1 – Family

 

      Hero and I are catching an early flight in the morning to visit Handsome Son # 1.  He’s in the military so it’s rare, and very special, when we get to see him.  (By the way, he’s single and I”m taking applications for a daughter-in-law!  Just sign up in the comment box.)

 

We’ll be gone five days and four nights.  When Hero said I should pack only a carry-on so we don’t have to pay for checked luggage, I cried laughed very hard.  Can any female pack for a 5-day trip, using only a bag which fits in the overhead bin?  Well, guess what.  I did it.  You might want to keep this on the down-low, though.   If word gets around to the male population, it could change the landscape of our culture.  

 

Yes, I packed the minimum this time.  But, in the long run, I’m not sure it’s going to save Hero any money.  I may have to – ahem – “supplement” my wardrobe at the mall in Raleigh while we’re gone.  And for Valentine’s Day, it’s gonna cost him a PajamaGram.

11 Responses

  1. I was wondering why you didn’t have comments on this post yet, advertising a handsome man and all… and then I realized that it’s been posted in the future. That’s right, still February 12th here, which makes posts nearly impossible. But my original comment was all about how I need a carry-on suitcase just for my overnight trips to CSprings. So good luck getting a week’s worth in. Maybe that means you get to go shopping in NC.

  2. what a handsome son he is! Enjoy your special time with him! Will look forward to hearing all about it when you return. Safe travels!

  3. Too funny!
    And you are so right! Very handsome! I need to know how old your boys are because I ahve 6 single nieces. 😉

  4. I’m putting in my application for my daughter right now. 🙂

    What a handsome young man. You must be so proud.

  5. Can I sign up? hahaha. when i first saw that pic. woooo. hehe.

    And yay, a carry on bag for 5 days? He still hasn’t learnt that that’s impossible? My dad once asked me pack a small carry on suitcase for a 1 week trip. I laughed so loud. 😛

  6. Aww.. your post are always so sweet! I have been realizing again how much fun it is spending time with the family. And I am surprised that you don’t have more applications! I am lucky to have such an amazing cousin! =D

  7. you’re so funny…you’re trying to find potential daughters in law and I’m trying to find homes for Winston’s little ones:
    http://ialsoliveonafarm.wordpress.com/2009/02/13/winstons-litter-has-arrived/

  8. I am most impressed about your packing job…that’s truly amazing! I hope you have a most special time with your family these next few days. 🙂 May it be blessed with wonderful memories and great conversations!

  9. Hi there…I hope you have had a great time with your family! I just laughed when I noted your packing situation. I travelled to Ireland my second year of law school for a summer program. I knew I would be doing some gadding about the countryside when I was there and so I packed light. One carryon (plus my school backpack) for EIGHT WEEKS.

    It was the summer. But it was Ireland, so it included jeans and a wool sweater. And I did laundry three times a week. Phew!

  10. He is adorable! Some girl is going to be very lucky some day… and to get such a great MIL too!

    Way To GO on the packing! I am in awe!

    Many blessings-
    Amanda

  11. Grace you are too hilarious!!

    You’re taking applications for a daughter-in-law…..now, does Handsome Son #1 know about this? Or are you planning to weed through all the applications and then let him in on the plan!! You’re a good mama!

    You can have the choice between several of my girls! Of course a few of them might be a bit young!!

Leave a Reply

