Raleigh Highlights

 

By necessity, our tour of Raleigh was condensed into a couple hours.  So we parked near City Market and walked the cobblestone streets, which  highlight its history.  What texture!    I felt a sense of wonder as I walked them. After all, North Carolina is one of the original 13 colonies.   How old are those streets?  What have those coblestones seen and heard?

 

     

 

  We had been encouraged to check out Big Ed’s for breakfast.             

 

And we were not disappointed.   The atmosphere, food and friendly service were pure southern delight. 

 

 

 

As he studied the menu, Hero asked what “fat back” was.  They responded by bringing him a sample.  

 

I have no photos of our meal; we were too busy devouring eggs, bacon, home fries, a dinner plate-sized flapjack, and the best biscuits with rich, dark molasses! 

 

Afterward, we walked off the calories with a quick tour of the Capitol, only a few blocks away.   

 

 

                                                    

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

And slipped in a few minutes to visit the History Museum across the street.  A statue on the steps directly outside greeted us, and honestly, the minute I saw it, the first thing that popped into my head was, “Can you hear me now?” 

 

 

So we slipped him Hero’s Blackberry for a closeup. 

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

Too soon, it was time to say our goodbyes as Handsome Son # 1 had to return to the base.  But we’ll be back.  This little tour was merely an appetizer.  I can’t wait to return for more of all Raleigh offers.  Y’all who live there are blessed!

4 Responses

  1. Sounds like you had a great time. You make me want to pack my bags for a trip to North Caroline. I have never been. I think we may have passed through there at night on our way to Washington D.C.. I would love to see the cobblestone streets.

  2. It looks and sounds wonderful!! Especially the food! 🙂 YUM

  3. ooohh. yummy biscuits! boy i miss those! they don’t have them here in Singapore. YUMMMYYY

  4. Oh and I love that you had a good time with your son! Parent-Child time is priceless! I love spending time with my parents too. 😀

Leave a Reply

