The Robins are Back! And the Wannabes.

 

My hopes for spring always soar when I spot the first robin of the season. Like yesterday.  But, this morning, they flocked to our yard.  I grabbed my camera to capture their number but they fled as soon as I moved, even from inside my house.  Finally, I managed to sneak closer with my zoom lens, only to discover that some of them weren’t robins at all, but robin wannabes!  Similar size, similar shape, similar silhouette.  But definitely missing the colors. 

Robins and Wannabes 

Birds kept coming, dozens of them, loading bare branches of neighboring trees.  Again, it was through my zoom lens that I learned it wasn’t only robins and starlings, but cedar wax wings. 

 

  Cedar Waxwings

 

What a beautiful reminder that God is bigger than the stress and strife in the world. 

 

   

“While the earth remains, seedtime and harvest, and cold and heat, and summer and winter, and day and night shall not cease.”  Genesis 8:22

 

Nothing can hold back spring!

 

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for that! I was only yesterday that I noticed a bunch of robins too! Bring on spring!

  2. Look at all of them! We haven’t seen any robins yet this year. Just a bunch of crows and they NEVER go away. ;v)

  3. I have been noticing Robins too! 🙂 Come on Spring!

Leave a Reply

