It’s Your Call

BITTERNESS IS A CHOICE.

 

    

        I used to think I had a really tough childhood. Should I choose to, I could make an impressive list of the trauma I went through. Instead, I’ll just say I’ve experienced my share of real-life nightmares.

 

 

        Most people have. How does one define “dysfunctional?” I have never seen an entirely “functional” family. With entirely ideal circumstances.

 

        It was a gloriously liberating experience when I finally realized I had a great childhood. It came at a time when I was feeling nostalgic about some of the happy memories of my girlhood days. Then the fear and anguish of those years crowded into my mind as well. And it suddenly dawned on me that I had a choice. I could dwell on the negative.  Or the positive.  I could choose.

 

 

        I know it’s the grace of God that made me an overcomer in this area. Yes, I still remember my childhood trauma, but it no longer bothers me one whit. God completely healed my heart from those wounds.

 

 

        But it was up to me.  It was my choice.  I wanted to be healed.

 

         Anyone can be.

 

         “Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report: if t here be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” Philippians 4:8

 

Being free of bitterness feels real, real good.

 

3 Responses

  1. so what I’m hearing you say is you haven’t bought into the “victim mentality” even though you have enough stuff from your past you could be a card carrying member. Was it a once and for all watershed moment w/ occassional tests to your resolve or has it been a gradual healing?

  2. I have memorized Phil. 4:8 and I try to quote it to myself everytime my thoughts turn to things it shouldn’t. It seems to happen mostly at night when I wake-up and can’t go back to sleep. If I let my thoughts run wild I will begin to get anxious. I then take my thoughts captive and give them to the Lord, and I recite Phil. 4:8 and begin to think more clearly on what is true….

  3. Thank you for this.

Leave a Reply

