Perfect Conditions for An Air Show

 

US Army Golden Knights Parachute Team - 50th Anniversary

US Army Golden Knights Parachute Team - 50th Anniversary

          Couldn’t have asked for more perfect conditions.  The “Wings Over Wayne” (county) Air Show was spectacular.  Sky was clear.  Temp was high 80s, sweat-soaked-clothing weather.  And the UVA/UVB rays served up a mess o’ southern vitamin D. 

          We did indeed slather on the SPF 30, over and over.  It worked great wherever we put it.  I ended up with a spot of bad sunburn on my elbow and on one ear, which was most humbling since I’d repeatedly harped on Hero and Handsome Son # 2 to make sure they put it on their ears. 

 

Working on a left-ear sunburn.

Working on a left-ear sunburn.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even though I applied it over and over on my feet too, I also now have strips of sunburn between the straps of my sandals.  Documented that with my camera but after proofing the photos, decided…Hmmmm, nuh–uh…not posting this one.

The time we got our car into line outside the A.F. base to get into the air show, park, then walk at least a mile across part of the flightline, go through security, etc., until we found a spot to place our folding chairs, took a little over two hours. 

 

Hundreds found shade under the wings of giant aircraft.  Not us!

Hundreds found shade under the wings of giant aircraft. Not us!

 

 

 

 

 

 

The sights, sounds, smells, and displays – on the ground and in the sky – had us on sensory overload. I tried to capture some of them but almost never got a sharp focus.  Just try photographing an F-15e Strike Eagle in flight!  I attempted it over and over.  Here’s my favorite shot. 

The jaw-dropping F-15e Strike Eagle

The jaw-dropping F-15e Strike Eagle

 

 

 

Hero & H.S. #2, waiting for up-close view of Strike Eagle cockpit.

Hero & H.S. #2, waiting for up-close view of Strike Eagle cockpit.

 

 

Mission accomplished - count the legs.

Mission accomplished - count the legs.

The highlights are way more than I can document now – since I need to get into the kitchen to start Parmesan Chicken – so I’ll sum it up by confessing that I want to go again next year.  Reeeeally want to! 

 Oh, alright.  Here you go: 

  

Sunny Souvenirs
~~~~
3 Responses

  1. Ouch. Poor tootsies. Air shows are fun. Haven’t been for a couple years but the best time we ever had at one was when we actually were given VIP tickets and right up front with food tents with all sorts of yummy’s and drinks served to us all day long. Now that’s the way to see an air show. LOL.

  2. Ouch! Your poor feet! I’ve done that too many times…and I have a feeling I may have a picture or 2 (or 10) like that before our AZ summer is over! Never been to an air show, but it looks like fun…We have an
    AF base nearby, and they occasionally open it up to the public. We missed this year’s event, but my husband might be able to get me to next years… 🙂

  3. Looks amazing. I will remind my dad NOT to look at your blog because it will make him far to jealous that he was not there. (Just kidding, of course, but it looked amazing none the less.)

Leave a Reply

