Corona 1, Robins 2

 

Came home from NC and discovered three little robin heads peeking from the nest under our front porch eaves.

 

 

Yesterday one decided to try his wings…

 

Fledgling # 1

Fledgling # 1

 

…and became a victim to the neighbor’s cat last night. 😦  Hero tried to rescue it but, alas, the damage was done.

 

Darn you, Corona!  Yes, the cat's named after the beer.  I love our neighbors and the cat, but right now he's not my friend.

Darn you, Corona! Yes, the cat's named after the beer. I love our neighbors and the cat, but right now he's not my friend.

 

Just now I heard a clunk! on our front porch and, sure enough, a second fledgling is now sitting on the concrete looking helpless.  Oh, whew, it just made its way up to my potted pansies. 

Aren’t those little tufts on his head the cutest?

 

Meanwhile, baby robin number three calls forlornly from the nest… 

   

 And I declare to Corona that they are NOT your supper!

 

~~~

5 Responses

  1. when they leave the nest, it’s all or nothing. I’ve been watching a nest in our pine trees w/ a red tailed hawk. Your post reminded me of something I thought just the other day…boy, when those hawks decide to leave the nest, that is a watershed moment…and like your robin babies..there is no guarantees… I’m thinking there has got to be a spiritual lesson here somewhere. nice photos.

  2. Oh dear!! I do NOT like cats! lol I hope your pretty little birdies make their way…

    God bless-
    Amanda

  3. The same thing happened to me in CSprings. I sat on my step for 4 hours throwing rocks at the neighbor’s cat, because he was determined to climb our little tree for the robin babies. I had to sleep eventually, though, and they were gone in the morning. 😦

  4. We have birds up under th eaves of our roof right now, and they are precious. What cute pictures.

    Great to be back,
    Genny

  5. What sweet little birds! So sad the cat got one. 😦

Leave a Reply

