Savoring Summer

 

 

 

It feels as if it’s been two years since we’ve had summer.  Last June ushered in devastating floods here in Iowa and the remainder of the summer was swallowed up in coping with crises.  Though Cedar Rapids is far from a full recovery, God has smiled on our area by granting lovely summer weather…perfect for growing corn. 

 

 

 

 

And perfect for those of us – like me – who savor summer.  I love summer!  The top photo is a shot of one of my favorite roads for walking at sunrise. 

 

Day’s end is equally captivating, with glittering fireflies and breathtaking sunsets.  

 

    

 

I cannot thank God enough for granting us these lovely days.  Every single one is a gift.  If  I could, I would hug summer.  I’m doing my best by cherishing every moment.  And tenderly touching summer’s beauty.

 

Oh Lord, thank you for thinking up Hollyhocks!

Oh Lord, thank you for thinking up Hollyhocks!

 

In a world so fraught with strife and pain, these are the things which center me. 

 

God is still with us.  He is still Love.  My prayer is that may you see Him today, too.

 

~~~~ 

5 Responses

  1. It is amazing the Creator created all of creation just so that we might know Him and enjoy Him.

  2. What a lovely post highlighting the beauty the Lord has placed all around us. Enjoy your summer days.

  3. Lovely post! We should all appreciate God’s beautiful creation. The hollyhocks are beautiful!

    I was just at the beach and I continued to marvel at how powerful God is to hold the whole universe in the palm of His hand.

  4. Beautiful, beautiful shots. Thanks for a great post that says “worship the CreatOR, not the creatED.”

  5. what a nice prayer!

Leave a Reply

