Moms of Military

  

 

He drove our rental van.  My husband sat next to him in the front passenger seat, and I sat in the bucket seat behind hubby.  The photo shows the view beside me. …our son’s carry ons for his deployment to the Middle East.   Looking at it caused my heart to ache beyond words

 

We were on our way to the base where the rest of his squadron and their loved ones were also gathering to share departing expressions of love, and tears.  I’ve seen similar scenes in news broadcasts but this time we were part of it.   And my life has been different ever since. 

 

Thank God for technology.  We have been able to hear from him a few times.  Short reports.  But so much better than nothing.  I cannot imagine the agony of sweethearts, wives and mothers who were separated from their beloveds during the Civil War or WW II, and would hear nothing of them for months at a time.  Or years.

 

 It’s only been nine days.  But already, whenever I check my watch, my mind automatically calculates those nine and a half  hours ahead to the time zone where our son is stationed.   He’s asleep.  He’s awake.  He’s……………  It’s like that now.  All the time.

 

~~~~   

9 Responses

  1. I didn’t realize your son was being deployed… I will be praying for his safety and protection…and for your peace.

    ~Veronica

  2. Oh wow… will pray for his safety, and your peace of mind. 🙂

  3. We are definitely praying for him, and are going to make him a package this month! 🙂

  4. Though you are agonizing over his deployment, I say, “Thank God for men like your son who are willing to do what needs to be done.”

    And yet, I understand your agony.

  5. Grace, you are all in our prayers. Being a parent is not for wimps

  6. Praying for you all.

  7. Grace,

    I had no idea your son was being deployed. As a mom to three sons I can feel your pain, yet not really. I just left my oldest son in St. Louis, MO, but I can talk to him daily, and even visit him occasssionally. Nothing like the sacrifice you have given in sending your brave son off to defende my freedom. Thank you and bless you and your hero. I will keep your family in my prayers.

  8. I didn’t realize he was being deployed either. Bless all your hearts, Grace! It’s good to read a post to know what’s going on and know how to pray. And yes, technology to keep in touch with loved ones these days is such a gift!

  9. I am so glad I read this beautiful post! I will be praying for you and your son! I am thankful that you can hear from him often!

Leave a Reply

